DSC 140A – Probabilistic Modeling and Machine Learning


This Week

Naive Bayes

Lecture 14 — Multivariate Gaussians

Lecture 15 — Naive Bayes

Lab 8

Due Sunday, May 26 at 23:59 PM

Homework 8

Due Wednesday, May 29 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 7

past weeks

Week 7

Density Estimation

Lecture 12 — Density Estimation

Lecture 13 — Maximum Likelihood

Lab 7

Was due Sunday, May 19 at 23:59 PM

Homework 7

Was due Wednesday, May 22 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 6

Week 6

Kernels & Probabilistic Models

Lecture 11 — Bayes Decision Theory

Lab 6

Was due Sunday, May 12 at 23:59 PM

Homework 6

Was due Wednesday, May 15 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 5

Week 5

Regularization

Midterm 01 on Thursday, May 02

Lecture 9 — Regularization

Lab 5

Was due Sunday, May 05 at 23:59 PM

Homework 5

Was due Wednesday, May 08 at 23:59 PM

Week 4

SVMs

Lecture 7 — SVMs

Lecture 8 — Feature Maps

Lab 4

Was due Sunday, Apr 28 at 23:59 PM

Homework 4

Was due Wednesday, May 01 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 4

Week 3

Linear Classification

Lecture 5 — Convexity

Lecture 6 — Linear Classifiers

Lab 3

Was due Sunday, Apr 21 at 23:59 PM

Homework 3

Was due Wednesday, Apr 24 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 3

Week 2

Gradient Descent

Lecture 3 — Gradient Descent

Lecture 4 — SGD and Subgradients

Lab 2

Was due Sunday, Apr 14 at 23:59 PM

Homework 2

Was due Wednesday, Apr 17 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 2

Week 1

Introduction

Welcome to DSC 140A!

Here is how to get started:

  • Read the syllabus.
  • Join our Campuswire message board and Gradescope with the email invitations you received earlier this week. If you didn't receive emails, you can use the access code 5482 for Campuswire and the access code VBNVWZ for Gradescope.
  • The first lecture is on Tuesday, April 02 at 12:30 PM in MANDE B-202.
  • The first discussion (which is a math review) is on Monday, April 01 at 2:00 PM in MANDE B-202.

See you in lecture!

Lecture 1 — Introduction: Nearest Neighbors

Lecture 2 — ERM and Least Squares

Lab 1

Was due Sunday, Apr 07 at 23:59 PM

Homework 1

Was due Wednesday, Apr 10 at 23:59 PM

Discussion 1

future weeks

Week 9

Regression Revisited

Midterm 02 on Thursday, May 30

Week 10

Decision Trees